The College facilities are located on a large elevated site on the Killicomaine Road in Portadown. The current and future buildings have stunning views over three rugby pitches and 2 hockey pitches on the Gilford Road side of the campus. Mature trees help create a picturesque canvas and the grounds are a landmark in the town of Portadown.

Founded in 1924, the school was established initially in Bann House on the banks of the River Bann, adjacent to the main road bridge of the time. In 1962 the school moved to a new, purpose-built site, on the Killicomain Road. The school previously had a preparatory department until its closure in 2006.

Portadown College has seen many major changes in education. Originally established as a fee-paying voluntary grammar school, it embraced the changes of the The Education (Northern Ireland) Act 1947 and, subsequently, has made a major contribution to the present ‘two-tier’ system of secondary education in the Craigavon area.

The College has adapted to many significant educational and social changes over its history. Not least of these being the transformation of the College from voluntary to controlled status. The College continues to enjoy the highest possible levels of support and expertise of its SELB colleagues. There have been 6 Headteachers in post since its inception in 1924: Mr Woodman, Mr Armstrong, Mr Flannagan, Mrs O’Hare and Mr Harper.

1W. J. Warren1924-1946
2D. W. J. Woodman1946-1973
3T. H. Armstrong1973-1993
4T. W. Flannagan1993-2006
5D. O’Hare2006-2009
6R. S. Harper2009–present

The leadership of the college is proud of its history, reputation and standing in the world of education but simultaneously mindful of the speed of technological advancement and educational change looking forward to the facilities a new school will provide for future generations of young people. the College continues to enjoy an enviable reputation for academic, sporting and other successes, being annually ranked among the top achieving Grammar schools in N Ireland and the UK in GCSE and A’Level performance.


Lord, help us to acknowledge
In everything Thy sway;
Be with us here in College
Our guide in work and play.
To kindness and to courtesy,
To championship of truth,
To courage and tenacity,
Inspire the Zeal of youth.

May School the wide arena
Of ardent, friendly strife,
Endow us with a keener
And finer zest for life,
To heights unscaled inspire us,
Unruly passions cool,
To selfless service fire us
Through pride and love of school.

Still onward, as the river
That once flowed by our gate,
Our years are moving ever
Towards life’s mature estate.
Add to our book-learnt knowledge
Wisdom and charity,
That they who leave this College
May still walk on with Thee.